State Kindergarten-Through-Third-Grade Policies: State Profile

State Kindergarten-Through-Third-Grade Policies: State Profile - Utah

June 2018


This information was collected from state statutes, rules and regulations. A profile was sent to each state for review and modification, as needed.
 


Kindergarten Requirements
What is the compulsory school age? Age 6 Utah Code Ann. § 53A-11-101
What is the state's kindergarten entrance age? Age 5 before September 2 Utah Code Ann. § 53A-3-402
What age exemptions or waivers exist for kindergarten entrance? Not specified in statute, rules or regulations.
Does the state require children to attend kindergarten? No Utah Code Ann. § 53A-3-402.7
Does the state require the district to offer kindergarten and if so, full or half day? What exemptions exist for districts? Yes — Half-Day Utah Code Ann. § 53A-3-402.7;
Utah Admin. Code r. R277-419
How many hours are required for grades K-3? 450 hours per year for kindergarten (2 hours/day). 810 hours per year for grade 1. 990 hours per year for grades 2-12. 4 hours per day grades 1-12. Utah Admin. Code r. R277-419
Teacher Quality
What are the teacher-to-student ratio requirements for grade K-3? Not specified in statute, rules, or regulation.
What are the requirements for teacher training and professional development in reading? Teacher preparation: License candidates who will teach core subjects in an elementary school must pass a state test demonstrating their knowledge and teaching skills in range of subjects including reading. Utah Code Ann. § 53A-6-104.5;
Utah Admin. Code r. R277-500-3
What are the requirements for teacher training and professional development in math? Teacher Preparation: Teacher candidates who will teach core subjects in an elementary school must pass a state test demonstrating their knowledge and teaching skills in a range of subjects including mathematics. Utah Code Ann. § 53A-6-104.5; Utah Admin. Code r. R277-500-3
Does the state have an early learning endorsement or license specific to K-3? Early Childhood License, kindergarten through grade 3. Utah Admin. Code r. R277-504
School Readiness and Transitions
Are kindergarten entrance assessments required? Local education agencies must give all kindergarten students a kindergarten entrance assessment that measures a student's literacy and numeracy skills. The assessment must be given either three weeks before or three weeks after the school year begins. Utah Admin. Code r. R277-489-3
Utah Code Ann. § 53A-3-402.9
What are states required to do with the results of the KEA? Teachers may use the assessment results to identify student needs and develop an instructional program. Based on the results, the school must provide the student's parent or guardian with appropriate resources to assist them in developing the student's literacy at home. The Superintendent or local education agency may use the assessment results to: identify the need for intervention and promote differentiated instruction, evaluate the effectiveness of programs, evaluate the impact of full-day kindergarten on at-risk students, and in identifying effective instructional practices or strategies for improving student achievement. Utah Code Ann. § 53A-3-402.9
Utah Admin. Code r. R277-489-4
Are there programs in place to guide the pre-kindergarten to kindergarten transition process? Not specified in statutes, rules or regulation.
Does the state have a statutory definition of school readiness? What do states use their definition of school readiness to inform? The state has a school readiness programs. The programs must have elements of content knowledge and skill development in oral language, phonics, alphabet and word knowledge, prewriting, book and print awareness, numeracy, creative arts, science and technology, and social studies, health, and safety. Utah Code Ann. § 53A-1b-105
Assessment, Intervention and Retention
Are assessments required in grades K-3? Statewide benchmark assessments must be administered to students in grades 1, 2, and 3 at the beginning, middle, and end of the school year. State standardized assessments in mathematics must also administered to students in third grade. Utah Code Ann. § 53A-1-606.6
Utah Code Ann. § 53A-1-604
What do the results of K-3 assessments inform? The results must be used to: set goals and establish programs by the local school board, inform a student's parent or guardian, determine appropriate intervention, revise a school district's achievement plan. Utah Code Ann. § 53A-1-604
Utah Code Ann. § 53A-1-606.5
Utah Code Ann. § 53A-1-606.6
Are there interventions available beginning in kindergarten? What are the interventions available for students in grades K-3? Interventions are available for students in K-3 who lack competency in reading skill or lag behind other students in their grade as demonstrated on benchmark assessments. Interventions components: focused instruction in small groups and individualized instruction based on the student's needs, best practices identified through proven research, materials and guidance for parents or guardians so that they can assist their child in attaining competency in reading skills, and provide parents with information on appropriate interventions available through tutoring, before and after school programs, or summer school. Funding for enhanced kindergarten programs is available for programs that focus on age-appropriate literacy and numeracy skills, use evidence based models, target at-risk students, and deliver intervention through additional hours, technology, or other means. Utah Code Ann. § 53A-1-606.5
Utah Code Ann. § 53A-1-606.6
Utah Code Ann. § 53A-17a-167
Is there a third grade retention policy? Not specified in statute, rules, or regulations.
Family Engagement
For those states with pre-kindergarten to kindergarten transition guidance, is family engagement a requirement? Not specified in statute, rules or regulations.
For those states with third grade retention policies, is parental input required? Not specified in statute, rules or regulations.
Social-Emotional Learning
Where is social-emotional development emphasized in statute? Not specified in statute, rules, or regulation.

© 2019 by the Education Commission of the States (ECS). All rights reserved. ECS is the only nationwide, nonpartisan interstate compact devoted to education. 700 Broadway #810, Denver, CO 80203-3442

To request permission to excerpt part of this publication, either in print or electronically, please contact the Education Commission of the States’ Communications Department at 303.299.3609 or askinner@ecs.org.

Your Education Policy Team  www.ecs.org