This information was collected from state statutes, rules and regulations. A profile was sent to each state for review and modification, as needed.
|What is the compulsory school age?||Age 6||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3321.01|
|What is the state's kindergarten entrance age?||Districts may adopt a resolution establishing August 1 as the required date by which students must have attained the specified age, instead of September 30.||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3321.01|
|What age exemptions or waivers exist for kindergarten entrance?||Opt-in: Age 5 if favorably evaluated for early admittance after referral from parent or guardian or qualified personnel.
Opt-in: Age 5 if enrolled in kindergarten in another district and transfers.
Opt-out: Age 6, if favorably evaluated for early admittance to grade 1 after referral from a parent or educator. f a student enrolls in school before the age of 6, he/she is subject to the compulsory attendance law.
Opt-in: Prior to age 5 in accordance with model student acceleration policies developed by districts.
|Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3321.01;
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3324.10
|Does the state require children to attend kindergarten?||Yes||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3321.01|
|Does the state require the district to offer kindergarten and if so, full or half day? What exemptions exist for districts?||Yes — Half-Day||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3321.05;
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3313.48
|How many hours are required for grades K-3?||455 hours per year for half-day kindergarten. 910 hours per year for full-day kindergarten and grade 1-6.||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3313.48;
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3321.05
|What are the teacher-to-student ratio requirements for grade K-3?||1:25 for grades K-4.||Ohio Admin. Code 3301-35-05|
|What are the requirements for teacher training and professional development in reading?||Teacher preparation: Teacher candidates must receive instruction in the use of phonics as a technique in the teaching of reading in kindergarten through third grade as part of minimum state standards as prescribed by the state board of education. Teachers seeking an Early Childhood license, pre-kindergarten through third grade, must successfully completed at least six semester hours, or the equivalent, of coursework in the teaching of reading that includes at least one separate course of at least three semester hours, or the equivalent, in the teaching of phonics in the context of reading, writing, and spelling.
Professional Development: The state board of education shall provide in-service training programs for teachers on the use of phonics as a technique for teaching reading in kindergarten through third grade.
|Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3319.24;
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3301.07
|What are the requirements for teacher training and professional development in math?||Not specified in statute, rules, or regulation. (References requirements for mathematics specialist. It appears the specialist support professional development activities rather than teaching students.)||Ohio Admin. Code 3301-24-05|
|Does the state have an early learning endorsement or license specific to K-3?||Early Childhood License, prekindergarten to grade three.||Ohio Admin. Code 3301-24-05|
|School Readiness and Transitions|
|Are kindergarten entrance assessments required?||Each kindergarten student must be administered the kindergarten readiness assessment provided by the state department of education between the first day of school and the first day of November.||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3301.0715|
|What are states required to do with the results of the KEA?||The assessment results cannot be used to prohibit a student from entering kindergarten. The results must be shared with the students parent or guardian as well as with the state department of education.||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3301.0715|
|Are there programs in place to guide the pre-kindergarten to kindergarten transition process?||Not specified in statutes, rules or regulation.|
|Does the state have a statutory definition of school readiness? What do states use their definition of school readiness to inform?||Not specified in statute, rules or regulation.|
|Assessment, Intervention and Retention|
|Are assessments required in grades K-3?||Third grade students must take achievement assessments in English language arts and mathematics at the end of the school year.||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3301.0710|
|What do the results of K-3 assessments inform?||Results of the third grade English language arts assessment score to determine promotion to fourth grade.||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3301.0710|
|Are there interventions available beginning in kindergarten? What are the interventions available for students in grades K-3?||District board must provide intervention services to student whose diagnostic assessments show that they are failing to make satisfactory progress towards attaining the academic standards for their grade.||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3301.0715|
|Is there a third grade retention policy?||Yes. School districts have the options to retain a third grade student who does not meet grade level achievement as measured on the state English language arts assessment. The district can also promote the student to fourth grade if the principal and teacher agree that other evaluations of the student's skill in reading demonstrate that the student is academically prepared to be promoted. The district can promote the student to fourth grade but provide the student with intensive intervention services.||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3313.608|
|For those states with pre-kindergarten to kindergarten transition guidance, is family engagement a requirement?||Not specified in statute, rules or regulations.|
|For those states with third grade retention policies, is parental input required?||Parental notification is required, including the use of intervention strategies.||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3313.608|
|Where is social-emotional development emphasized in statute?||The kindergarten through third grade learning standards include a domain on social emotional development.||Ohio Admin. Code 3301-37-03|