State Profile

School Discipline

State Profile - Utah


School Discipline
What may a student be suspended or expelled for? Defiant or disruptive behavior
Destruction of property
Drug use/possession
Physical harm or threat of physical harm
Pornography
Profanity/vulgarity
Threatening behavior
Utah Code Ann. § 53G-8-205
What must a student be suspended or expelled for? Criminal behavior
Drug sale/use/possession
Firearm/weapon possession
Imitation firearm/weapon possession
Utah Code Ann. § 53G-8-205
Are there limitations placed on suspension or expulsion? Length: Suspension is 10 days. Utah Code Ann. § 53G-8-206
Are there non-punitive approaches outlined as alternatives to suspension or expulsion? Alternatives to discipline: Local Education Agencies must implement strategies to assist students through a continuum of interventions, including positive behavior interventions and supports, prior to administrative referral. Utah Admin. Code r. R277-609-6
Are there alternative schooling options available for students who are suspended or expelled? Yes. Parents are responsible for ensuring continuing education during a period of suspension or expulsion lasting more than 10 days. Designated school officials are available to assist parents in determining a course of action, which may include private education or alternative programs. Utah Code Ann. § 53G-8-208
When is a school required to involve law enforcement in student discipline? Not specified in statute or regulation.
Is corporal punishment permitted? No. Utah Code Ann. § 53G-8-302
Does the state outline reporting requirements for suspension and expulsion? Local school boards and governing boards of charter schools must prepare an annual report on disciplinary actions and violations for the State Board of Education. Utah Code Ann. § 53G-8-205

© 2020 by the Education Commission of the States (ECS). All rights reserved. ECS is the only nationwide, nonpartisan interstate compact devoted to education. 700 Broadway #810, Denver, CO 80203-3442

To request permission to excerpt part of this publication, either in print or electronically, please contact the Education Commission of the States’ Communications Department at 303.299.3636 or mzatynski@ecs.org.

Your Education Policy Team  www.ecs.org