Exit Exams: State Requires Passage of Exit Exam for High School Graduation

Exit Exams: State Requires Passage of Exit Exam for High School Graduation

Why does it matter? States, schools and districts benefit when standards are taken seriously based on the same high expectations and the same basis of evaluation for all students. Additionally, students benefit when schools are held accountable for meeting student needs.


  • 22 states currently use exit exams as a component of their graduation requirements.
  • By 2012, four more states will use exit exams:
  • Arkansas- beginning school year 2009-2010
  • Maryland- beginning with the class of 2009
  • Oklahoma- beginning with the class of 2012
  • Washington- beginning with the class of 2008
Methodology: This information was collected from state statutes, rules and regulations, and state education agency Web sites, and will be updated as new policies and programs are enacted.

Sources for all data points are available through this link.

Last updated June 25, 2007

Research conducted by Michael Colasanti. Please contact Jennifer Dounay Zinth at 303.299.3689 or jdounay@ecs.org with comments or questions about this database.

Does state require passage of exit exam for high school graduation?
Alabama Yes, the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE)
Alaska Yes, the Alaska High School Graduation Qualifying Exam (HSGQE)

Arizona Yes, Arizona's Instrument ot Measure Standards (AIMS)
Arkansas Yes, the Arkansas Comprehensive Assessment Program (eff. 2009-2010 school year)
California Yes, the California High School Exit Examination (CHSEE)
Colorado No
Connecticut No
Delaware No
District of Columbia No
Florida Yes, the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT)
Georgia Yes, the Georgia High School Graduation Tests (GHSGT)
Hawaii No
Idaho Yes, the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT)
Illinois No
Indiana Yes, the Graduation Qualifying Examination (GQE). Beginning with the class of 2012, students will be required to pass end-of-course assessments instead of the GQE.
Iowa No
Kansas No
Kentucky No
Louisiana Yes, the Graduation Exit Examination (GEE)
Maine No
Maryland Yes, the Maryland High School Assessment (HSA), beginning with the class of 2009
Massachusetts Yes, the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS)
Michigan No
Minnesota Yes, the Basic Skills Tests (eff. through class of 2009) and the Graduation Required Assessment for Diploma (eff. class of 2010)
Mississippi Yes, the Mississippi Subject Area Testing Program (SATP)
Missouri No
Montana No
Nebraska No
Nevada Yes, the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE)
New Hampshire No
New Jersey Yes, the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA)
New Mexico Yes, the New Mexico High School Competency Examination (NMHSCE)
New York Yes, the Regents Examinations.
North Carolina Yes, the North Carolina High School Competency Tests and end-of-instruction exams.
North Dakota No
Ohio Yes, the Ohio Graduation Tests (OGT)
Oklahoma Yes, the End-of-Instruction Exams (EOI), effective with the class of 2012.
Oregon No
Pennsylvania No
Rhode Island No
South Carolina Yes, the High School Assessment Program (HSAP)
South Dakota No
Tennessee Yes, the Gateway Examinations
Texas Yes, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS)
Utah No
Vermont No
Virginia Yes, the Standards of Learning exams (SOL)
Washington Yes, the Washington Assessment of Student Learning (WASL)
West Virginia No
Wisconsin No
Wyoming No
American Samoa No
Guam No
Puerto Rico No

© 2020 by the Education Commission of the States (ECS). All rights reserved. ECS is the only nationwide, nonpartisan interstate compact devoted to education. 700 Broadway #810, Denver, CO 80203-3442

To request permission to excerpt part of this publication, either in print or electronically, please contact the Education Commission of the States’ Communications Department at 303.299.3636 or mzatynski@ecs.org.

Your Education Policy Team  www.ecs.org