Virtual High Schools: Who Pays for Courses?
Education Commission of the States • 700 Broadway, Suite 810 • Denver, CO 80203-3442 • 303.299.3600 • Fax: 303.296.8332 •

Virtual High Schools: Who Pays for Courses?

Most often, a student's local school district will pay for the courses. In some instances, however, a student must pay (typically because he/she has already failed the course).

Why does it matter?

Who pays for courses (district/school/student under certain circumstances)?
Alabama State funded
Arizona State funded
Arkansas State funded
California Local district
Colorado Local district
Florida State funded
Georgia State funded
Hawaii State funded
Idaho For courses offered during the school day, the school district pays for the course.  For courses outside of the regular school day, the student is responsible.
Illinois Local district
Iowa Local district
Kentucky Local district; however, the student pays a fee if the course is taken for credit recovery.
Louisiana State funded
Maryland Local district
Michigan Local district
Mississippi State funded
Missouri Local district
New Mexico Local district; however, a home school student who enrolls in less than one-half of the minimum course requirements may pay up to 35% of the cost of each unit.
North Carolina No information available
North Dakota Student. However, scholarships are available and are awarded to most of those who apply.
Oregon No information available
South Carolina No information available
South Dakota Local district, which is reimbursed by the state.
Texas Local district; however, students may have to pay the enrollment fee if they are enrolled in a course load greater than that normally taken by students in the equivalent grade level in other school districts and if they do not qualify for accelerated funding under section 30A.154. Also, students who are not enrolled in a school district or open-enrollment charter school as a full-time student may be charged enrollment fees.
Utah Local district
Virginia The state pays for all Early College Scholar students (the Early College Scholars program allows eligible high school students to earn at least 15 hours of transferable college credit while completing the requirements for an Advanced Studies Diploma). For all other students, there is a tuition charge.
West Virginia The local district, but students may have to pay if the course is already offered in their schools.
Wisconsin Local district

© 2018 by the Education Commission of the States (ECS). All rights reserved. ECS is the only nationwide, nonpartisan interstate compact devoted to education.
To request permission to excerpt part of this publication, either in print or electronically, please contact the Education Commission of the States’ Communications Department at (303) 299.3609 or
Helping State Leaders Shape Education Policy