These laws relate to the maximum age in which the state is obligated to pay for a student's education (these ages do not refer to special education students; however, for states with no upper statutory age laws, the upper statutory age for students with disabilities is given).
Why does it matter? Students who drop out or are otherwise disengaged from learning, but who later have a change of heart - benefit from being allowed to complete the coursework required from a diploma.
Methodology: This information was collected from state statutes, rules and regulations, and state education agencies, and will be updated as new policies and programs are enacted.
Sources for all data points are available through this link.
Last updated: July 30, 2007
Research conducted by Michael Colasanti. Please contact Jennifer Dounay Zinth at 303.299.3689 or email@example.com with comments or questions about this database.
|Upper statutory age|
|Alabama||Not in statute; however, for students with disabilities, the upper statutory age is 21 years.|
|District of Columbia||Adult students may receive educational services as long as they meet all other eligibility criteria.|
|Florida||Not in statute; however, for students with disabilities, the upper statutory age is 21 years.|
|Hawaii||Not in statute; however, for students with disabilities, the upper statutory age is 20.|
|Kansas||No upper statutory age|
|New Hampshire||21 years|
|New Jersey||20 years|
|New Mexico||21 years|
|New York||21 years|
|North Carolina||21 years|
|North Dakota||21 years|
|Rhode Island||Not in statute; however, for students with disabilities, the upper statutory age is 21 years.|
|South Carolina||21 years|
|South Dakota||21 years|
|Tennessee||Local district determines eligibility.|
|Utah||Not in statute; however, for students with disabilities, the upper statutory age is 22 years.|
|Vermont||No upper statutory age|
|West Virginia||21 years|
|Puerto Rico||Not in statute; however, for students with disabilities, the upper statutory age is 21 years.|
|Virgin Islands||Not in statute; however, for students with disabilities, the upper statutory age is 21 years.|
© 2015 by the Education Commission of the States (ECS). All rights reserved. ECS is the only nationwide, nonpartisan interstate compact devoted to education.
To request permission to excerpt part of this publication, either in print or electronically, please contact the Education Commission of the States’ Communications Department at (303) 299.3609 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Helping State Leaders Shape Education Policy